I survived my first social dance party! #BlogJune

So I’ve been taking social dance (ballroom) lessons for beginners over the last couple of months, and I managed to venture out to my first social dance party last night…

It was a really cool experience – though maybe a tad scary at times when I was attempting to try a new dance and I had no idea what I was doing!

I discovered that although I know basic steps for three dances:

  • Rhythm foxtrot
  • Waltz
  • Cha-cha

there are so many other styles of dance and variation even within the three that I’m comfortable with.

There was a real mixture of styles – new vogue, modern jive, salsa, samba, rumba, rock and roll, swing, Viennese waltz, and even some line dancing!

This was me for a couple of the line dances 😛

And when I got it together somewhat…

It was a really cool experience, and super neat to catch up with old friends, meet some new people, and try some a lot of  new dances.

Bring on the next one!

Leave a Reply

