The start of my LIANZA Professional Registration journey…

Study 29 photo
Day 29: Studies by Snugg LePupp via CC license on Flickr

So I am embarking on my professional registration journey with LIANZA – I hope to trace the next 12 months of mentoring here on my blog as well as my overall impressions of the Professional Registration Scheme.

So – where to begin?

I applied for Professional Registration back in August 2013 once I had finished my BA and was eligible to apply for pre-registration. I received my acceptance letter a week or two ago, saying that my pre-registration has been approved and now I need to find my mentor (already done!) and come up with a Professional Training Plan for the next twelve months. Then it needs to be signed off by my mentor and then I go ahead and complete the plan and record my learning in a Portfolio of Learning, which can be based off the Revalidation Journal template available on the LIANZA website.

Seems straight-forward enough…

So I started with mind-mapping some professional development activities or opportunities I could do over the next twelve months (or maybe further ahead).

Mind map of professional development ideas rotated

The trouble I’m having is that I’ve already been involved in a number of professional development activities over the past year, some of which included:

  • Writing two books reviews for Library Review
  • Presenting two sessions at LIANZA Conference 2013
  • Writing two 3000 word papers (one for my BA research and one for the Conference paper)
  • Writing abstracts for my Conference submissions
  • Being part of the Communications Committee for LIANZA Conference 2013
  • Running ANZ 23 Mobile Things with Kate Freedman for 6 months (May-November 2013)
  • Being a member of the LIANZA Waikato/BOP Regional Committee
  • Being editor of LIANZA’s Library Life
  • Blogging

They have all been great experiences, but now I am finding it a bit more difficult coming up with ideas for professional development activities as I feel I have already done a few on my bucket list, and now I am trying to trump the ones I have already done. I’m also trying to keep it simple, as a few folk on Twitter reminded me that my new job will also be a lot of professional development in itself, and I should take time to enjoy and grow in that role.

So I think part of my job (at this stage) is coming up with some ideas, but also reigning in those ideas to allow time & space for growth in my new role. I know my mentor will also give me some helpful feedback, as well as my new manager 🙂

My impression of the Professional Registration scheme so far is that it is a more formal way to plan & document your professional development – I know that I already do some of these things anyway out of interest and a desire to grow as a professional – but this is probably a good way to keep your growth well-rounded.

Other people I have spoken to say it is a good way of keeping you on track, but one of the challenges they have found is documenting their learning & fitting it into the right BOK. They’ve also warned me not to leave it all to the end of the three years as it is harder looking back & filling in the blanks! Some points which hopefully I will take on board 🙂

So a few questions for you…

  • How do you decide which activities are worth pursuing for Professional Registration?
  • Are you involved with a Professional Registration (or the equivalent) scheme?
  • What way do you find is the best way to record or solidify your learning – through blogging, a journal, etc?
  • How do you balance formal professional development plans with informal learning & professional development that just happens (such as serendipitous conversations on Twitter :D)?
  • Any other advice for me and others as they start this journey of formal (or informal) professional development?
2 thoughts on “The start of my LIANZA Professional Registration journey…

  1. How do you decide which activities are worth pursuing for Professional Registration?
    I pursue things that are good for my career or that I need to do, rather than seek things out for my reregistration. Once I get near to the end of each year I look for gaps that need filling.

    Are you involved with a Professional Registration (or the equivalent) scheme?
    I have my RLIANZA and am a strong advocate of the scheme. I’m also joining the Prof Reg Board in 2014 which is very exciting.

    What way do you find is the best way to record or solidify your learning – through blogging, a journal, etc?
    I blog to share, journal to solidify, report to my boss if I want something to go further. In many ways I don’t think it matters what you do – write songs or poems, make art, journal, blog etc, as long as you *do* something with your learning.

    How do you balance formal professional development plans with informal learning & professional development that just happens (such as serendipitous conversations on Twitter :D)?
    I use both for my rereg – it doesn’t have to be formal learning. It could be reading an article or getting involved in a Twitter chat.

    Any other advice for me and others as they start this journey of formal (or informal) professional development?
    Yes! Download the template and make a date with yourself to use it every month. And don’t write too much 😉

  2. Pingback: The Octopus Librarian | Professional registration: The next step

Leave a Reply

