A little bit caught up…

Caught Up
“Caught up” by Nanagyei via CC license on Flickr

I was just looking at my blog and realized the last post was titled: “This could be a hard habit to break.” Well, maybe not that hard – seeing as I haven’t posted in over a month!

It was quite unintentional to follow up 30 days of non-stop blogging with (over!) 30 days of not blogging, but I’ve been enjoying some time off and a slightly different pace of life.

In the past month, I have wrapped up my six-month contract role on a cataloguing project, enjoyed a week’s holiday away with the family, and spent a couple of weeks at home catching up on stuff and applying for jobs.

This post isn’t an excuse for not blogging, but rather a realization that I needed some time away from this blog to focus on some other things in my life. I feel that I am coming back more refreshed with more clarity about the priorities in my life.

Sometimes it can be a hard balance to be both disciplined with blogging (because we all know it’s a discipline, right?) and to also allow yourself the freedom to skip a day (or a week!).

I really enjoyed Blog June and the challenge of posting something every day, but feel that is quite a frantic pace of blogging to maintain. Then I completely fell off Comment July – and I don’t even feel bad about it! I’m hoping to continue in the spirit of Comment July with “Blogger Friday” as I still feel it’s important to comment on other people’s posts, but I’m glad not to have the pressure as July was a busy month for me. I’m hoping to make a more realistic return to blogging now with at least one post a week – maybe more. I have a habit of writing or blogging when I feel the urge, but then sometimes find it hard to motivate myself when I am busy and tied up with other stuff.

What are your tips for keeping motivated with blogging?

Leave a Reply

