Gifting myself freedom: Permission to take a break

Freedom
Freedom by Adib Roy via CC license on Flickr

This past week has been really busy with finishing my degree, and catching up with various bits and pieces of work – both at work and at home.

My to-do list is growing,
My desk is overflowing,
And I am groaning.
(How was that for an impromptu poem?)

So I had to make a conscious decision today to give myself the freedom to have a break; to stop and rest. There will also be something else to do, discuss, blog about, but it’s important to cut yourself a bit of slack. So I’ve done that at least three ways:

  1. I’ve given myself permission not to worry about not having looked at #anz23mthings 5: “Photos + maps + apps” in any great detail (actually in not much detail at all). Life’s too short for that; it’s been a busy couple of weeks and I can’t do everything – I’m not Superwoman (at least, I don’t think I am). So I will focus on video instead for the catch-up week next week – and I will not feel guilty about it.
  2. I’m giving myself permission to do shorter blog posts – I love blogging and writing about things, but some days I just don’t have the time. I might even resort to pictures or memes!
  3. I’m not going to stress about everything on my to-do list; Rome wasn’t built in a day and not everything on this list will get done today (or in the next week or even the next two weeks!). I’ve been going through and prioritizing the items on my lists to work out which ones really need doing and which ones would be nice to do. I’ve discovered my tendency is once I’ve finished study for the semester (or in this case, for my degree!), I get really annoyed by the state of my room and I go through and do a thorough clean-up of accumulated papers, books, etc… I’m kind of aching to do that right now, but at the moment writing this blog post and working on Library Life are higher priorities.

I mean, after all, it’s not every day you finish a degree, right? And these six months have been extremely busy for me this year, so I do need to make an effort to stop and have a break. I’m going away on holiday for a week straight after my contract finishes (in about 5 weeks); I’m really looking forward to that, but I need to do something now to make it through to that holiday.

So how do you give yourself permission to stop or slow down with work or other projects?

And do you find it easy or hard?

Sometimes it’s just a case of letting go – at least for a little while 🙂

Freedom !
Freedom! by Alban Gonzalez via CC license on Flickr

One thought on “Gifting myself freedom: Permission to take a break

  1. Pingback: The Octopus Librarian | #BlogJune: Looking back…

Leave a Reply

