Trail of links: professional reading on Twitter

Here is the trail of links I have followed (and read) from Twitter over a morning πŸ™‚
I’ve been wondering how I could keep track of my professional reading, and looking at what I click on and read from Twitter is probably a good start! I created this list manually by embedding every tweet I clicked on – does anyone know if there is a programme that can keep track of what you click on from your Twitter account?

Do you keep track of your professional reading from Twitter links, and if so, how do you do it???

It was interesting looking through this list to see the type of things I click on and am interested in; IT and education is definitely a big component, as is social media/blogging, library stuff, and job-hunting (probably as I am job-hunting at the moment!) It was a fun exercise to do and maybe something I should do fairly regularly to see if these type of links change or not.

Information Technology and Education

Library Stuff

Job Hunting & Work/Life Balance

Blogging

Miscellaneous

11 thoughts on “Trail of links: professional reading on Twitter

  1. I “favourite” anything on Twitter that I regard as professional reading that I want to come back to, then it’s in a nice list for me when I have time πŸ™‚ It works well for me. That’s pretty much how I compiled this blog post – http://goo.gl/fDomv

  2. I’m a favourites person as well- I will often see if the article has an RSS feed so I can incorporate the site that published it into Feedly πŸ™‚

  3. You put me to shame with all your professional reading! Like Renee, I ‘favourite’ things, but the bit about coming back to them… >.<

  4. And I forgot to check the follow up comment box again… One day I’ll remember before hitting ‘post comment’ πŸ˜‰

  5. You could consider setting up IFTTT to save your twitter faves to a Google drive spreadsheet. Or you could bookmark each reading in a diigo list. Or save them to zotero or mendeley lists of professional reading. I do the last of these as I am in the ALIA PD and occasionally get audited. This makes it very easy to export them as citations. Might write a blog post on that.

    • Oh! Thanks Peta! Great suggestions. I’m currently using Zotero for my research project. After I finish my Masters, I will need to set up a system for current awareness activities, including professional reading for the PD scheme. I’d certainly appreciate a blog post on that. πŸ™‚ Cheers

      • Me too – a post on that topic sounds fantastic Peta πŸ™‚ I’ve tried using Zotoro, but had numerous hiccups; will need to try again πŸ™‚

    • Awesome – thanks for pointing me to IFTTT – will check it out πŸ™‚

  6. I use http://packrati.us to automatically bookmark anything I tweet or favourite with a URL into diigo (also works with other socialbookmarking services).

  7. Pingback: The Octopus Librarian | #BlogJune: Looking back…

Leave a Reply

