Time to bite the bullet – #BlogJune & #CommentJuly

The Passage of Time

The passage of time by Tony Verdu Carbo via CC license on Flickr

I’ve been thinking about time a lot lately, especially since it’s been a week and a half since my last post – yikes!

But I have decided it is time to bite the bullet and sign up for #BlogJune. What is #BlogJune? It is a Twitter movement back from 2010 initiated by @stephmcg and @flexnib that encourages everyone to blog every day in June. Here are the links to Con’s original post and Stephanie’s original post.

There are no rules – apart from the rule that there are no rules! – so it seems like a fun challenge. Hopefully it will help me to revitalize this blog and keep the momentum up!

I asked my Twitter PLN for some advice:

I have thought about planning my posts for the month, but have decided I might be better do it on the fly about topics/ideas that have come up that day or week. I hope it will be an eclectic mix of topics (in other words, totally random!) but there will definitely be:

  • #anz23mthings posts
  • #RealityLibrarianship posts/summaries – really excited about Reality Librarianship 2013 from Heroes Mingle!!!
  • posts about study as I’m finishing up my research paper (and my degree) in the next 3 weeks!!!
  • some cool photos from Flickr (love the Creative Commons advanced search!)
  • maybe some cool quotes to mix things up a bit
  • anything else I think is interesting πŸ™‚

So stay tuned for this wild ride! If you are keen to participate, make sure you fill in Con’s form on her blog as she is creating a list of the 2013 participants!

#Comment July

This idea came from Catherine Hocking who liked this idea of my blog post “Blog Lurking, why is it so hard to comment?” and suggested that we make a commitment in July to go around and do at least one comment per day on someone else’s blog. We are still ironing out the details, but I am up for the challenge! What do you think?

So I’ve bitten the bullet; will I survive #BlogJune? Stay tuned for more details…
Bite the Bullet...

Bite The Bullet by Richard Elzey via CC license on Flickr

6 thoughts on “Time to bite the bullet – #BlogJune & #CommentJuly

  1. I thought I would start the commenting early on.
    I’m going to follow a similar patter to you I think. I’ll have a vague idea of some posts (particularly following along with 23 Mobile Things), but I think overall I want to write about things I have been thinking about as the day arrives.
    I have a 1.5hr commute each day to work so I will have a lot of thinking to do. Time to download the WordPress app onto my phone I think.

    • Awesome – that sounds like a great plan! Wow – that’s a long comment to work; mine is about 10 minutes so have to do my thinking another time πŸ™‚ The WordPress App on the iPad is really awesome; love using that one! I’m not sure about the phone app, but think it will probably do the job :)p

  2. Good luck with Blogjune! Having your iPad handy or a notebook to jot down ideas is a good thing to do, as well as reading other posts, to follow a meme. Lists are always good to do too πŸ™‚

  3. Yay! My first pingback that wasn’t from my own blog!
    I am doing #blogjune and #commentjuly – no plans yet, will probably just fly by the seat of my pants… go with the flow…
    Looking forward to a hectic couple of months πŸ™‚
    Catherine

Leave a Reply

